About Bishop's

The Bishop’s School, as it was then called, opened on its current site on the 16th April 1890 with 45 boys. Girls were welcomed in 1902 and the school was coeducational until 1927. We now have around 1000 pupils across the school, about 300 of whom are in the Sixth Form.

The legacy of Bishop John Wordsworth and our heritage and traditions are something we are very proud of. The marriage of old and new, historical roots and innovative development makes for a unique educational experience for every one of our students.

With our privileged location within the Close and monthly school services in the splendour of the Cathedral, lasting memories are created for current and former students alike.