Safeguarding at BWS

As a school we take safeguarding issues very seriously.  We are committed to promoting the welfare of children and young people and expect all staff and volunteers to share this commitment. Safeguarding procedures in school are overseen by our Designated Safeguarding Lead (Mrs Edney), alongside a team of Deputy Safeguarding Leads and overseen by a school Governor (Mrs J Ranabaldo). The school follows statutory guidance on Safeguarding matters, and this is reflected in our Child Protection Policy which can be viewed under the policies section of the school website.

All staff, including non-teaching staff, have received recognised training in safeguarding and child protection. A central record is kept of all adults who either work in the school or who help as volunteers with details of DBS checks in place. Senior members of staff involved in the recruitment of teaching and non-teaching staff have received recognised training in safer recruitment, and have put in place appropriate procedures to ensure that appropriate checks have been made before appointments are taken up.

Any visitors to the school are required to report to the office to obtain a named visitor’s badge.

All staff, including non-teaching staff know the procedures for reporting safeguarding or welfare concerns and we endeavour to make sure all our pupils are aware of how to report safeguarding or welfare concerns about themselves or others. All students are aware of the importance of e-safety and have received guidance from the IT department and through lessons on safe use of the Internet.

If you are concerned about the safety of any child in our school, please report this to any member of the safeguarding team as soon as possible. If you are concerned about the conduct of a member of staff or a volunteer in our school, please contact the Head Master.

Designated Safeguarding Leads



Designated Safeguarding Lead: Mrs J Edney




DDSL: Mr J Rogers (Assistant Headteacher)



DDSL: Ms Z Lambard (Head of Sixth Form)



DDSL: Mrs N Mesnard (Assistant Head of Sixth Form)


H Morton

DDSL: Mr H Morton (Assistant Head of Sixth Form)


Jenner M

DDSL: Mrs M Jenner (Head of Middle School)


Denham B3

DDSL: Mr B Denham (Assistant Head of Middle School)



DDSL: Mr H Joyce (Assistant Head of Middle School)


Jacobs E3

DDSL: Mrs E Jacobs (Pastoral Support Officer, Middle School)



DDSL: Mrs L Drummond (Head of Lower School)



DDSL: Mrs T Collingridge (Assistant Head of Lower School



DDSL: Mrs K Bazire-Smith (Pastoral Support Officer, Lower School)